Neuropathology Society of India

How it all India!


To advance knowledge in the field of neuropathology, and to disseminate such knowledge in the country and abroad.


The Society is a non-profitable organization with primary goal of promotion and advancement of knowledge and research in the field of neuropathology. Towards this end, the Society aims to:
  1. Establish, promote, and manage programs for advancement of research and teaching pertaining to neuropathology and its related disciplines.
  2. Conduct conferences, CME, workshops, seminars and demonstrations to enhance awareness and promote interest in the field of neuropathology.
  3. Evolve uniform laboratory based protocols and guidelines for diagnosis and reporting of tumors and diseases pertaining to neuropathology that can be applied in all centres in the country.
  4. Promote and enhance scientific exchange through interdisciplinary and inter Institutional collaborations in India and abroad.
  5. Increase public awareness regarding availability of facilities for laboratory diagnostic services in neuropathology.
  6. Interact with and other national and international bodies for promoting research and teaching in the discipline of neuropathology such as the International Society of Neuropathology (ISN), Neurology Society of India (NSI), Indian Association of Pathologists & Microbiologists (IAPM), Indian Academy of Neurology.
  7. Assist Government and non-governmental agencies in all respective matters of neuropathology.
  8. Protect and preserve the interest of its members.

Executive Committee

Dr. Chitra Sarkar, President
Dr. Vani Santosh, President Elect
Dr. C Sundaram, Immediate Past President

Dr. SK Shankar, Past President
Dr. VV Radhakrishnan, Past President
Dr. Ashru K Banerjee, Past President
Dr. Sarala Das, Past President
Dr. Geeta Chacko, Secretary
Dr. Vaishali Suri, Joint Secretary
Dr. Nuzhat Husain, Treasurer
Dr. Yasha TC, Member
Dr. Megha Uppin, Member
Dr. RK Saran, Member


Neuropathology Enthusiast?

We need You.


Consitution of NPSI 2023

Election schedule for NPSI election

Date of start of nomination : 15th April 2023
Last Date of receipt of nomination : 28th April 2023
Notification to eligible candidates : 6th May 2023
Lats date for withdrawal : 9th May 2023

Event Diary

Draft NPSI Constitution for Comments

Dear Members, The draft copy of Constitution of the Neuropathology Society of India that has been updated and amended by the Constitution Review Committee. Kindly go through this document. If you would like to make any suggestions, modifications or amendments to this...

read more
1st Weekend Webinar 2022

1st Weekend Webinar 2022

Dear NPSI Members, We are happy to announce that the NPSI’s 1st Weekend Webinar of 2022, will be held on the 21st and 22nd of January between 5.30 and 7.30 pm. On the 21st, Prof. Fausto J. Rodriguez, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA, will deliver a talk on...

read more

Get In Touch

6 + 12 =


Dr. Geeta Chacko
Prof and HOD, Department of Pathology,
CMC, Vellore.
Email: [email protected]